Karnataka State Open University (KSOU)


Welcome To KarnatakaState Open University (KSOU)

The Karnataka State Open University established on 1st June 1996 bide Karnataka-govt. Notification No. ED 1 UOV 95 dated 12th February 1996 – KSOU Act 1992 isconsidered to be a reputed Open University amongst the open learninginstitutions in the country. Keeping in view the educational needs of ourcountry, in general, and state in particular the policies and programmes havebeen geared to cater to the needy.

Karnataka State Open University is a recognised University of Distance Education Council(DEC), New Delhi, regular member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU),Delhi, permanent member of Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU),London, UK, Asian Association of Open Universities (AAOU), Beijing, China, andalso has association with Commonwealth of Learning (COL).

KarnatakaState Open University is situated at the North–Western end of theManasagangotri campus, Mysore. The campus, which is about 5 Kms, from the citycentre, has a serene atmosphere ideally suited for academic pursuits. TheUniversity houses at present the Administrative Office, Academic Block, LectureHalls, a well-equipped Library, Guest House Cottages, a Moderate Canteen, GirlsHostel and a few cottages providing limited accommodation to students coming toMysore for attending the Contact Programmes or Term-end examinations.